/ Modified may 1, 2017 9:46 a.m.

Phone Talk, Text While Driving Illegal in Tucson

Ban starts Monday; first offense can bring $250 fine, or get in a crash and pay $500.

cell phone Using a cell phone while driving is now illegal in Tucson.

Motorists in Tucson can be fined starting Monday for holding a cell phone to talk or text.

The City Council approved the ordinance that expanded an existing ban on texting behind the wheel, to include hand-held cell phone calls and using other hand-held devices.

It’s a “secondary offense”, meaning police can issue a ticket for using a cell phone only if they pull over a motorist for something else first.

The fine is $250 for a first offense and $500 for later offenses, or for getting into a crash holding a cell phone when driving.

The council adopted the ban on a trial basis. In six months it will review the ordinance to see how well it is working.

Last week, Gov. Doug Ducey signed legislation banning teenagers from texting while driving in the first six months of having their licenses.

The town of Oro Valley and Pima County government have bans on hand-held phones and texting in effect.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona