/ Modified may 31, 2018 9 a.m.

Arizona Candidates File Signatures, Setting Primary Ballot

Candidates had to qualify for the ballot by 5:00 PM Wednesday

Voting station vote booth election hero Volunteers check voter registration at a voting station.
AZPM Staff

The final day to get on the ballot in the August primary in Arizona saw some surprises, including the qualification of twelve people to run for the 2nd Congressional District, in Southern Arizona.

Four Republicans will face each other in the race in hopes of getting through to the general election in November, and seven Southern Arizona Democrats are also vying for their party's nomination in that district. One member of the Green Party is also on the ballot.

The 2nd Congressional District seat opened up when Rep. Martha McSally joined the race for the U.S. Senate seat left open by Sen. Jeff Flake's retirement.

McSally is joined in a Republican Senate primary by Kelli Ward and Joe Arpaio.

Two Democrats, Rep. Kyrsten Sinema and Deedra Abboud, will face off in the Democratic Senate primary.

Eve Reyes-Aguirre is on the ballot for U.S. Senate representing the Green Party.

Former Arizona Secretary of State Ken Bennett qualified for the ballot in the governor's race, forcing a primary with Gov. Doug Ducey.

Democrats Steve Farley, Kelly Fryer and David Garcia all qualified to run for governor.

Libertarian Kevin McCormick also qualified to run for Governor.

Former state House member Don Shooter qualified to run for the state Senate from Yuma.

Shooter was expelled from the House earlier this year amid allegations of ongoing sexual harassment. He was the first member of a state Legislature removed from office as part of the #MeToo movement.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona