/ Modified jan 6, 2021 10:41 p.m.

Arizona electoral votes accepted after storming of the Capitol

Three AZ House members vote to reject Arizona's electoral votes.

AZ Electoral College 2020 11 Arizona Democrats prepare to cast their votes in the Electoral College. Dec. 14, 2020
Regina Romero, elector

Following a storming of the U.S. Capitol, the members of Congress returned to work and turned down an objection to Arizona’s electoral votes.

Congress picked up the debate late on Wednesday evening. Members speeches alternated between condemning the violence earlier in the day and arguing over whether or not Arizona’s electoral votes should be accepted.

Rep. Reuben Gallego, D-Tempe, chastised supporters of President Trump.

“Right now, this country is asking you to be better. Right now, this country is asking you to show courage. That man will leave, your soul will stay with you for the rest of your life. You owe it to democracy; you owe to the hundreds and thousands of men and women who have sacrificed their life. You know better, you are better. Be the good American, be the American you want. Preserve this democracy, reject this movement, and stop this terrorism that is happening from the White House,” Gallego said.

Southern Arizona Democratic Representative Raul Grijalva had spoken earlier in the day but was given a second opportunity in the evening.

“I hold no member specifically responsible for that madness that was around us. But we do share a responsibility my friends to end it. It is past time to accept reality, to reaffirm our democracy and move on,” said Grijalva.

When the votes were cast in the House and Senate, Arizona’s electors were accepted. Arizona House Republicans Andy Biggs, Paul Gosar, and Debbie Lesko all voted object to the state’s electors. Republican Representative David Schweikert crossed party lines and voted with Democrats to accept the votes. Both of Arizona’s Senators voted to accept the state’s electors.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
AZPM is a service of the University of Arizona and our broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents who hold the trademarks for Arizona Public Media and AZPM. We respectfully acknowledge the University of Arizona is on the land and territories of Indigenous peoples.
The University of Arizona