/ Modified feb 2, 2018 4:16 p.m.

Texting While Driving Now A Primary Offense in Tucson

First time fine is $50, doubles for the second ciation.

Phone driving

Tucson Police began issuing tickets Thursday for using handheld electronic devices such as cell phones while driving. The change to primary offense means law enforcement can stop drivers for a violation, and won't have to also find another violation, such as speeding.

The City Council approved the ordinance last month.

Anyone driving and using a device will be subject to a first-time $50 fine that doubles for the second offense. The third offense results in a $200 fine.

If a person violates the law and it causes an accident, they will face a minimum $250 fine.

Using a device while driving is now illegal in the police jurisdictions for Tucson Police, Pima County Sheriff's Department and Oro Valley Police.

Follow Brandon Mejia on Twitter or contact him via email at BMejia@azpm.org.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona