/ Modified jan 10, 2018 2:40 p.m.

Three UA Scholars to be Inducted as Regents' Professors

The award represents the state's highest faculty honor for work drawing national or international recognition.

UA Campus hero The University of Arizona campus.

Hoshin Gupta portrait Hoshin Gupta (PHOTO: University of Arizona)

Three University of Arizona scholars on Thursday will be inducted as Regents' Professors, the state's highest faculty honor.

It is an award that goes to full professors whose work has drawn national or international recognition.

Hydrology scientist Hoshin Gupta has built a 30-year career of researching water and examining the choices made in its use.

Alison Deming portrait Alison Hawthorne Deming (PHOTO: University of Arizona)

"Becoming more efficient with our water use, using it only when it is necessary, using substitutes for other things that water maybe should not be used for, so we can use if for what's most important," he said.

Alison Hawthorne Deming and Pham Huu Tiep are also being named Regents' Professors at the ceremony on the UA campus.

Pham Huu Tiep portrait Pham Huu Tiep (PHOTO: University of Arizona)

Deming is an English professor and award-winning author. Tiep is a professor of Mathematics specializing in group theory, an area of scholarship that's the basis for several other fields of research, including atomic physics.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona