/ Modified feb 26, 2016 4:56 a.m.

Voters May Decide on Expanded Redistricting Commission

It would go from five to eight members, with Legislature as tiebreaker.

Arizona State Legislature SPOT Members of the Arizona state Legislature meet at the Senate Building.



The Arizona Senate Thursday approved changes to the commission that determines boundaries for legislative and congressional districts.

SCR 1017 would expand the commission from five members to eight members. The political make up would be three Republicans, three Democrats, and two independent members.

If the eight member commission has a tie vote on the drawing of a map and the tie cannot be broken for 10 months, the legislature would then draw the map.

“I don’t understand how anybody could think that is a good idea," Sen. Andrew Sherwood, D-Tempe, said. "Inmates should not be able to sentence themselves and lawmakers should not be able to draw their own maps.”

The Arizona Independent Redistricting Commission was approved by voters as a way to take politics out of the drawing of political district maps.

Voters must approve the proposed change to the Independent Redistricting Commission.

The Senate also passed SB 1519 a bill requiring voters to get a receipt if they give someone their early ballot to return. Exceptions are provided for family members, people who live in the same household, and mail carriers.

By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona