January 25, 2018 / Modified jan 26, 2018 10 a.m.

Amber Smith to Become First Female CEO of Tucson Metro Chamber

She says her first goal is to strengthen workforce development.

Mike Varney and Amber Smith Amber Smith, right, takes over from Mike Varney, left, as president and CEO of the Tucson Metro Chamber of Commerce.
Brandon Mejia, AZPM


Amber Smith will spend her first day as president and CEO of the Tucson Metro Chamber of Commerce on Feb. 1, succeeding Mike Varney, who served in the position for almost seven years.

Smith, who hails from Texas, will be the first woman to fill that role. The first thing on her agenda, she said, is bolstering workforce development throughout Tucson.

"Were going to really strengthen that relationship between Pima Community College, who is working on their centers of excellence, and find out from them what it is they need from the business community," Smith said. "They're already satisfying those needs and have a plan, so I think it's important for us to get engaged and at the right place."

Smith previously led the Metropolitan Pima Alliance, where she advocated for planned growth and economic development in the region.

Follow Brandon Mejia on Twitter or contact him via email at BMejia@azpm.org.

MORE: Economy, News, Tucson
By posting comments, you agree to our
AZPM encourages comments, but comments that contain profanity, unrelated information, threats, libel, defamatory statements, obscenities, pornography or that violate the law are not allowed. Comments that promote commercial products or services are not allowed. Comments in violation of this policy will be removed. Continued posting of comments that violate this policy will result in the commenter being banned from the site.

By submitting your comments, you hereby give AZPM the right to post your comments and potentially use them in any other form of media operated by this institution.
Arizona Public Media broadcast stations are licensed to the Arizona Board of Regents. Arizona Public Media and AZPM are registered trademarks of the Arizona Board of Regents.
The University of Arizona